8th Route 66 Film Festival 2009

The 8th Annual Route 66 Film Festival was held at the Hoogland Center for the Arts in Springfield, Illinois on September 19-20, 2009. Audience Choice Award Winners for short films were: Debut Film: Sinnerman (Travis Pittman and Kelly Daniela Norris)
Comedy: True Beauty This Night (Peter Besson)
Drama (tie): Dixon's Girl (Fernando Rivero and Oscar Piloto) and The Dying Western (Michael Kortlander)

Thirteen award winners chosen by the judges were:
Best Experimental Film: Cantata in C Major (Ronnie Cramer)
Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library Award: Scarecrow (Patrick Knipe)
Best Documentary: Vietnam Long Time Coming (Jerry Blumenthal, Peter Gilbert, Gordon Quinn)
Best Debut Feature: Mysterious Ways (John Denn)
Best Comedy Feature: My Name Is Jerry (Morgan Mead, David Hamilton, Zach Baliva)
Best Foreign Film: Euforia (Alfonso Corona)
Best Animation: The Incident at Tower 37 (Chris Perry)
Best Debut Short: The Caretaker (Darryl Kinson)
Best Thriller: Crook (Daric Gates)
Best Drama Short: Williams Christening (Josh Hume and Danny Vecchione)
Best Comedy Short: Dream the Life (Rebecca Rocheford Davies)
Best Western: Al' s Beef (Dennis Hauck)
Best of Fest: Gone Fishing (Chris Jones)

Route 66 2009 Film Festival Schedule (PDF file)